Looking Forward to 2012

31 Dec

2011 was definitely a life-changing year.  It wasn’t necessarily a good year but I can’t say that it was all terrible either. Either way, the events of the year have changed me, whether for the better or not. I have turned from a shy, scared-of-everything teenager into someone that is graduating a year early and ready to take on the world. By this time next year, I will have graduated high school, been on my own for a few months, and be preparing to take off for Latin America in a few short days. It’s scary and exciting all at once. Some days I am so excited that it’s all I can think about and other days I am beyond convinced I’ve lost my mind, especially when everyone around me is just waiting for me to fail.

I have no idea what 2012 will bring and I’ve learned that setting concrete goals of what MUST happen usually leads itself to disappointment so here are just a few things that I’m HOPING will happen.

Return to Guatemala – I still dream about the few days that I spent there. I miss the people, the atmosphere, the FOOD, and everything about the place. Unless something horrible comes up, it looks like I’ll be returning on March 23rd. Only 83 days!

Explore more of the US – I’ve lived here all of my life and I’ve seen a whole lot of…nothing. I’ve barely even explored my own state! I might dream of visiting all things foreign but at the same time, I know there’s so much to my very own country to explore. I’m hoping to have the opportunity to head on over to the West Coast before the year ends!

Visit one other country – I don’t have any places for this one yet but I would love to visit another country besides the US and Guatemala. Somewhere new and foreign. I have no idea where or when or even if it’ll happen. But I’m crossing my fingers that something comes up!

Go to the beach. – I haven’t been to the beach since I was little and visiting my uncle in Florida. I’ve been itching to go to the ocean for a while now so I’m hoping this is the year it’ll finally happen, whether it’s in Florida, California, or somewhere else!

What are you hoping will happen in 2012?

 

One Response to “Looking Forward to 2012”

  1. thejessicaness January 4, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    I am hoping that both of us will be able to cross more items off our bucket lists. I wanted to have a more definitive resolutions list but I prefer to be excited when plans happen then to be disappointed when they don’t. Good Luck!

Leave a comment